Top
Welcome! Sign up for all the latest bookish news:

Join The Newsletter

Young Adult Beach Reads 2020

Happy July, book lovers! And welcome to my Beach Reads 2020 list - summer is not cancelled when these books can whisk you away to any destination in the world. . .

What am I bringing to my imaginary beach vacation?

You Were Made For Me by Jenna Guillaume 

The day I created a boy started out like any other.

Katie didn’t mean to create a boy. A boy like a long-lost Hemsworth brother: six-foot tall with floppy hair and eyes like the sky on a clear summer’s day; whose lips taste like cookie-dough and whose skin smells like springtime.
A boy who is completely devoted to Katie.
He was meant to be perfect.
But he was never meant to exist…

Why I Want To Read: Swoon-worthy, cute premise and unique take on a YA Romance – sign me up!

Cut Off by Adrianne Finlay 

Warcross meets Lost in this haunting young adult sci-fi thriller in which teens compete to survive in the wilderness for one million dollars on a new virtual reality show. When something goes horribly wrong and the contestants realize no one is coming to save them, they must question their very reality—and how much of the game is really for show.

Each contestant has their own reasons—and their own secrets—for joining the new virtual reality show CUT/OFF that places a group of teenagers alone in the wilderness. It’s a simple premise: whoever lasts the longest without “tapping out” wins a cash prize…

Why I Want To Read: Hunger-Games vibes, edge-of-seat kind of book = perfect for those thundery summer nights!

Heartbreak Boys by Simon James Green

Faking the best summer ever is a lot harder than it looks…
At the start of summer, Jack and Nate find themselves dumped as their respective exes, Dylan and Tariq, start up a new relationship together. Not only that, their exes start posting pics on social media, showing the whole world how fabulous their new life together is!

Jack and Nate are reeling. Not to be outdone, they decide to create their own ‘highlights reel’ and show their exes that they’re having an even better time…

Why I Want To Read: I’m a huge fan of Simon’s books (and met him once at a Scholastic event) so this was an automatic YES. Just look at the cuteness. Imagine reading this in a garden filled with flowers and sunshine overhead. NEED NOW.

Midnight Sun (The Twilight Saga #5) by Stephenie Meyer

When Edward Cullen and Bella Swan met in Twilight, an iconic love story was born. But until now, fans have heard only Bella’s side of the story. At last, readers can experience Edward’s version in the long-awaited companion novel, Midnight Sun.

This unforgettable tale as told through Edward’s eyes takes on a new and decidedly dark twist. Meeting beautiful, mysterious Bella is both the most intriguing and unnerving event he has experienced in his long life as a vampire…

Why I Want To Read: as a former huge Twilight fan (and still am) I really can’t wait to finally read Midnight Sun. I’ve waited so long for this! I hope it doesn’t disappoint for a perfect middle-of-summer read.

More Than Just a Pretty Face by Syed M. Masood 

For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Danyal Jilani doesn’t lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he’s funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn’t approve of his career choice, but that hardly matters. What does matter is the opinion of Danyal’s longtime crush, the perfect-in-all-ways Kaval, and her family, who consider him a less than ideal arranged marriage prospect…

Why I Want To Read: this was the first book that made me feel like it would MAKE my summer. I seriously can’t wait to get my hands on this book. Crushing hard on it right now.

Six Angry Girls by Adrienne Kisner

A story of mock trial, feminism, and the inherent power found in a pair of knitting needles.

Raina Petree is crushing her senior year, until her boyfriend dumps her, the drama club (basically) dumps her, the college of her dreams slips away, and her arch-nemesis triumphs.

Things aren’t much better for Millie Goodwin. Her father treats her like a servant, and the all-boy Mock Trial team votes her out, even after she spent the last three years helping to build its success…

Why I Want To Read: a feminist YA novel + girl power + strong plot = the best kind of novel to read and share with friends. I imagine reading this on a road trip and then passing it around to my friends to read.

 

Dating Makes Perfect by Pintip Dunn

The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because they’re not asked. Not because they’re not interested. Not even because no one can pronounce their long, Thai last name—hence the shortened, awkward moniker. But simply because they’re not allowed.

Until now.

In a move that other Asian American girls know all too well, six months after the older Tech twins got to college, their parents asked, “Why aren’t you engaged yet?” The sisters retaliated by vowing that they won’t marry for ten (maybe even twenty!) years, not until they’ve had lots of the dating practice that they didn’t get in high school…

Why I Want To Read: this novel sounds just WOW. Sisterhood vibes, high school YA (my fave) and Asian Rep. This will be the first in my cart to read this Summer!

Not Another Love Song by Olivia Wildenstein 

An aspiring teenage singer finds herself playing a different tune when she falls for a boy who could jeopardize her future dreams in Olivia Wildenstein’s romantic YA novel, Not Another Love Song.

Angie has studied music her entire life, nurturing her talent as a singer. Now a high school senior, she has an opportunity to break into Nashville’s music scene via a songwriting competition launched by her idol, Mona Stone. Discouraged by her mother, who wishes Angie would set more realistic life goals, she nonetheless pours her heart and soul into creating a song worthy of Mona.
But Angie’s mother is the least of her concerns after she meets Reedwood High’s newest transfer student, Ten…

Why I Want To Read: this gives me Nashville summer vibes with hints of music and romance and EVERYTHING picture-perfect-Summer.

He Must Like You by Danielle Younge-Ullman 

An authentic, angry, and surprisingly funny and romantic novel about sexual harassment, from award-winning author Danielle Younge-Ullman.

Libby’s having a rough senior year. Her older brother absconded with his college money and is bartending on a Greek island. Her dad just told her she’s got to pay for college herself, and he’s evicting her when she graduates so he can Airbnb her room. A drunken hook-up with her coworker Kyle has left her upset and confused. So when Perry Ackerman, serial harasser and the most handsy customer at The Goat where she waitresses, pushes her over the edge, she can hardly be blamed for dumping a pitcher of sangria on his head…

Why I Want To Read: it’s always super important to me, and is incredible, to see there are novels that have sexual harassment awareness and literal REAL types of stories that can and do exist beyond novels. When I first saw the title for this book, He Must Like You, I just KNEW what it would be about. I’ve heard that phrase too often, and know so many readers will too.

I hope that you’ve found something above that sounds like your perfect Summer read. Don’t forget to share your anticipated summer reads with me in the comments or on twitter @LittleMemoirs. I LOVE to hear from bookish friends. 

happy reading!

becca

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Discover More

As featured on